Identity online: how does it differ to real life?

It’s not unusual for me to spend hours scrolling through my Facebook newsfeed, caught up in looking at what others have posted and flicking through their new photos. I don’t know why but I find it so fascinating to look at how people present themselves online and the things that they choose to post.

Week 4’s topic for ALC708 (social media and identity) got me thinking about the importance of being aware about identity and how that actually fits in with social media. Are people aware of how they present themselves online? Is there a certain way that they do that? Why do they do that?

I’ve created a short Slideshare with some things that I think are important when thinking about how identity can change when using social media:

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

